Welcome to my blog

As some of you may know I studied a BA Hons in Television and Radio Production at Salford University, while at University I became really interested in food, and because of my part time job I ended up entering the world of Chocolate as my career rather than the media.

One of my other passions while at Uni was Hello Kitty, and this passion quite randomly turned my dissertation subject after speaking to my lecture about Gwen Stefani and her obsession with Kawaii. I enjoyed every aspect of my dissertation, and I could have literally gone over my word count tenfold (it was only 10,000 words……I kind of feel cheated). When I finished Uni I went straight into management training at Selfridges, but constantly kept thinking about how I could develop my dissertation. I had mentioned to my lecturer I would love to develop my dissertation, and a mixture of time and other matters meant I put the subject down. I once again contacted my lecturer in2008, but again I put the idea on hold; this time because I was actually quite worried about how long I’d been out of the education system. It was only 2 years, but I felt stumped at even writing to write a small piece about why I wanted to do a PHD.

So why am I suddenly picking the subject up again? Well on Friday 11th of March Japan was hit by a huge Earthquake and Tsunami. I’ve never been to Japan it’s on my huge list of places to go, but I have visited Hong Kong and have several friends in China. A few days after the Tsunami I was listening to my local radio station and the subject of why the Earthquake and Tsunami happened came up. As it was a natural disaster I hadn’t given any thought to why, it basically just had.

A caller suggested the awful events were Karma for what happened in the Second World War; this suggestion very much divided the callers, and it seemed to be very much a generational opinion. I was instantly taken back to my dissertation and the views of some researchers. In quite general terms I had been made aware throughout my research that some researchers believed that Japans obsession with Anime, Kawaii , Hello Kitty and how women’s roles in society were all down to the Japanese society trying to change international perceptions. As a society they wanted to change the perception of being seen as nasty and show they were nice, cute and basically innocent. I emailed the radio show and very briefly explained what I had seen throughout my research….and well there you go that’s why I want to reopen my dissertation and immerse myself in the world of Hello Kitty again.

I would love my research to turn into a PHD, but I know that’s a lot of work, and I run my own business which may stop me. I’m a huge believe in taking every opportunity and living for the day, but I think recently I’ve put too many things on hold.

I hope this blog will become an open forum for my research where I can meet Hello Kitty fans, and get their views and opinions. I will be posting regular blogs, hopefully gathering information and eventually have enough to be able to visit my old lecturer or another University and ask them whether a PHD is possible.

I will post my dissertation on here as well, but I would prefer it if people didn’t go taking huge chunks for there on websites or research without my permission, I worked really hard on my dissertation and I’m really proud of it.

So….speak to you all soon 😀

About joulesw1811

Award winning Chocolatier by day; I run my own Chocolate Boutique and Traditional Sweet Shop in Shrewsbury. While studying at University in Salford I wrote a dissertation on Hello Kitty, which enabled me to embrace a passion for the Japanese culture and Hello Kitty. It’s one of my ambitions to someday turn my dissertation into a PHD and take my research to the next level. I love travelling, spending time with friends and food
This entry was posted in Hello Kitty, My Journey, Welcome and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome to my blog

  1. Dr-to-be Tiffo says:

    Hey Julia.

    I’m starting my PhD (hopefully) this year too so can understand the excitement to start yet terrifying prospect of actually doing such a huge task, so my heart goes out to you. Much love and positive thoughts!

Leave a Reply

