Past News Articles 2010- new brand for Sanrio?

Like all famous brands Hello Kitty has been featured in the news a lot. Below you will find a selection of past articles; newer articles will be featured in their own separate posts.

Has Ageism hit Hello Kitty? After 36 years Hello Kitty might be taking a step back from the Sanrio lime light….surely not I here you say! The creator of Hello Kitty Yuko Shimizu, has designed a new cat with very simpler features. The cat called Angel Cat Sugar looks very similar to Hello Kitty and also reminds me of Charmmy Kitty which was a kitten designed as Hello Kitty’s pet a few years ago. Angel Cat Sugar has been very popular in Japan and America, and is seen as the new generation Feline for Sanrio.

According to the article although sales of Hello Kitty have thrived in other areas of the world, sales in Japan over the last decade have slowed. Although Hello Kitty has been around for over 30 years I really don’t think the brand made headway outside Japan until the late 80’s maybe even early 90’s, which would explain the growing sales. Sales may have slowed in Japan, but I can’t see Sanrio ever getting into difficulty, the Hello Kitty brand is
so trusted and loved by so many in Japan.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-1308686/Watch-Hello-Kitty-Angel-Cat-Sugar-set-new-icon.html

Please read the article and comment below, thanks

About joulesw1811

Award winning Chocolatier by day; I run my own Chocolate Boutique and Traditional Sweet Shop in Shrewsbury. While studying at University in Salford I wrote a dissertation on Hello Kitty, which enabled me to embrace a passion for the Japanese culture and Hello Kitty. It’s one of my ambitions to someday turn my dissertation into a PHD and take my research to the next level. I love travelling, spending time with friends and food
This entry was posted in Hello Kitty, In the News, Sanrio and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

