Japanese Street Fashion: Lolita

If you’ve had chance to read my dissertation you’ll know how important Japanese Street styles are, especially in the Harajuku district. Over the last few decades the styles have changed and developed as well as women’s roles.

As there are so many street styles I am going to publish separate posts about each fashion and over time I will add more details and pictures. Feel free to comment or get in touch with any views and opinions.

Lolita
One of the most recognisable styles in Japanese Street Fashion; within its boundaries it has many different styles and themes. Now gaining interest worldwide, Lolita is seen as one of the many different styles that brings the “cute” in Japan. The more well-known styles within Lolita fashion are:

  • Gothic Lolita – is Lolita with a heavy
    influence from the Eastern and Victorian Goth style. Often characterized by dark colours, crosses, bats and spiders, as well as other popular
    gothic ‘icons’. Victorian iron gates and architectural designs are also often seen in dress prints. Skirts are usually worn knee length with
    petticoats beneath for volume. Blouses or shirts are lace-trimmed or ruffled in the Victorian style. Knee length socks with boots, bonnets, brooches, and a parasol finish out this style of Lolita.
  • Sweet Lolita – is the most childlikestyle, mostly characterized by baby animals, fairy tale themes and innocent, childlike attire. It is inspired by baby dolls and Hello Kitty, and is popular among the SweetLolis. Pastel colours are used, as well as other muted colours like black and dark reds and blues. Large head bows, cute purses, elegant parasols and stuffed animals are popular accessories for Sweet Lolita.

  • Punk Lolita – An experimental style, mixing the influences of Punk with Lolita. It can sometimes look
    deconstructed or crazy, while keeping most of the ‘Lolita silhouette’.
  • Classic Lolita is very traditional. It is
    very mature and business-like and focuses on light colours such as, blue, green, and red.
About joulesw1811

Award winning Chocolatier by day; I run my own Chocolate Boutique and Traditional Sweet Shop in Shrewsbury. While studying at University in Salford I wrote a dissertation on Hello Kitty, which enabled me to embrace a passion for the Japanese culture and Hello Kitty. It’s one of my ambitions to someday turn my dissertation into a PHD and take my research to the next level. I love travelling, spending time with friends and food
This entry was posted in Harajuku, Japanese Street Fashion, Kawaii and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Japanese Street Fashion: Lolita

  1. Hey there,

    Sorry for the late comment, I was one of the Lolita girls who stopped by your shop in the Market Hall in Shrewsbury on Friday (10th); me being the over-the-top Sweet with the candyfloss coloured wig.
    I’d be more than happy to help with whatever you had in mind with the Japanese fashion portion of the blog and dissertation, it’s a great idea and I’m so happy you decided to ask both me and my friend on Friday. It’s lovely to see people actually enjoying the fashion for what it is and not shouting abuse — although that’s never stopped me!

    I’ve commented signed into my Facebook, but feel free to e-mail me at (thanks for your email, I’ve kept it private so you don’t get anyone conntacting you, Thanks Julia x)

    I also noticed the post about Ganguro, which is a dying fashion in Japan now and focus is on mainly Gyaru, and the post about Fairy Kei, both two more fashions that I like to dabble in (although I’ll always be more involved in Lolita, I think.)

    Look forward to following your blog and hearing back from you.
    All the best!

    Jodie O’Callaghan

    • joulesw1811 says:

      Hi Jodie,

      Thank you so much for getting in contact! I wanted to speak to you when I first met you (in my shop on Butcher Row). I’ve saved your email address and I will be intouch in the coming months. I’d love to know more about Japanese fashion and why people in the West love wearing the clothes. If you have some free time would you like to write some blogs about your experiences of wearing the clothes, the Japanese fashion community in the UK and why you like wearing the clothes? You can take a subject at a time if you like, and the blogs don’t have to be too long 🙂

      Thanks Julia

Leave a Reply

