Japanese Street Fashion: Cosplay

If you’ve had chance to read my dissertation you’ll know how important Japanese Street styles are, especially in the Harajuku district. Over the last few decades the styles have changed and developed as well as women’s roles.

As there are so many street styles I am going to publish separate posts about each fashion and over time I will add more details and pictures. Feel free to comment or get in touch with any views and opinions.

Cosplay

Cosplay, short for “costume role play”, is a type of performance art whose participants outfit themselves with often elaborate costumes and accessories as a specific character or idea. Often, the fashionistas of this street fashion will dress up as characters from manga,
anime, tokusatsu, and video games. Less commonly, they will dress up as characters from live action television shows, fantasy movies, and Japanese pop music bands.

I’m really interested in developing my knowledge of Cosplay, I have recently found out that MCM Expo hold regular exhibitions in London and Manchester with special dedicated Cosplay areas. There are many online shops selling lots of different costumes and there seems to be a huge following in Europe as well as Asia. I hope to visit the exhibitions and meet Cosplay fans and expand my research on Baudrillard’s theories of Hyperreality

About joulesw1811

Award winning Chocolatier by day; I run my own Chocolate Boutique and Traditional Sweet Shop in Shrewsbury. While studying at University in Salford I wrote a dissertation on Hello Kitty, which enabled me to embrace a passion for the Japanese culture and Hello Kitty. It’s one of my ambitions to someday turn my dissertation into a PHD and take my research to the next level. I love travelling, spending time with friends and food
This entry was posted in Japanese Street Fashion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

