Taking shape….

Over the last few days I’ve spent time adding extra pages and info to the blog. I’ve also taken the leap to contact my dissertation tutor…luckily he still works at Salford University, he’s passed me on to another lecturer who deals with PhD proposals as well as many other things.

So I now have all the information I need to slowly begin the task of writing my proposal. Although in some respects it’s a mammoth task I’m actually looking forward to the challenge. Over the last few months I’ve been gathering little bits of information together, searching for old news stories I’ve seen. All things Hello Kitty have been taking over my life.

The twitter account @HKittyDevotee (if you’re not following) hasn’t been working as well as my business account @TootSweetsShrew for making contacts and gathering information. I’m sure over time it will grow to be effective and helpful. I would really like people to comment on my blog posts as well. I have been receiving some really helpful emails, and I will be following them up properly when I start my research. I hoped my blog would be a way of getting people’s views and opinions so I could decide my path to some extent…..so again like Twitter I need to work on that.

I’ve also had an idea about creating a sort of visual exhibition to accompany my research. I won’t be doing this for a long time, but I thought it might be a way of engaging people in a different way. Many people I have spoken to know Hello Kitty, but they don’t know the history or real story behind the brand. I really want to travel to Japan at some point and hopefully I can gather items, ideas and pictures for my exhibition.

I’s be so grateful if anyone reading this blog could share the address with friends, especially if they like Hello Kitty, Japan, Harajuku, Kawaii or Anime

Thanks Joules

About joulesw1811

Award winning Chocolatier by day; I run my own Chocolate Boutique and Traditional Sweet Shop in Shrewsbury. While studying at University in Salford I wrote a dissertation on Hello Kitty, which enabled me to embrace a passion for the Japanese culture and Hello Kitty. It’s one of my ambitions to someday turn my dissertation into a PHD and take my research to the next level. I love travelling, spending time with friends and food
This entry was posted in My Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment